The Common Admission Test (CAT) is India’s most prestigious national-level entrance examination, which permits aspirants to get into top management institutes. It is the biggest MBA entrance test in the country. The IIMs (Indian Institute of Management) conduct this Common Admission Test annually on a rotational basis.

The CAT exam is divided into three sections:

  • Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension (VARC),
  • Data Interpretation and Logical Reasoning (DILR),
  • Quantitative Ability (QA).

Each section is timed for 40 minutes, making for a total exam duration of 2 hours.

CAT Exam Highlights:

Name of the Exam Common Admission Test (CAT)
CAT Official Website
Conducting Body IIM Lucknow
Exam Duration 2 hours
CAT Exam Fees INR 1200 (Reserved categories)

INR 2400 (Other categories)

Medium of Exam English
Mode of Exam Computer Based Test (CBT)
CAT Exam Question Type MCQ and Non-MCQ questions
Syllabus Quantitative Ability

Logical Reasoning & Data Interpretation

Verbal Ability & Reading Comprehension

Eligibility Bachelor’s Degree with 50% aggregate

(45% aggregate or equivalent for reserved categories)

CAT Exam Syllabus:

A thorough understanding of the CAT exam syllabus is important for determining your direction all through this CAT journey. It will be much easier to determine how much time you should spend on each segment, when you have a reasonable understanding of the CAT syllabus.

CAT Exam Syllabus Topics
Quantitative Aptitude Quantitative Aptitude – Arithmetic, Algebra, Number System, Modern Math, Geometry & Mensuration
Logical Reasoning & Data Interpretation Puzzles, Seating Arrangement, Blood Relation, Syllogism, Coding and Decoding Tables, Graphs, Data Caselets
Verbal Ability & Reading Comprehension Reading Comprehension, Para Jumbles, Para Summary, Para Completion, Odd One Out

Eligibility for CAT

The candidate must satisfy the below specified criteria:

  1. Hold a bachelor’s degree, with not less than 50% or equal CGPA (45% for Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST) and Persons with Disability (PWD)/Differently Abled (DA) classification)
  2. The degree should be granted by any of the universities consolidated by an act of the central or state statutory body in India or other instructive organizations built up by an act of Parliament or pronounced to be considered as a university under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification recognized by the Ministry of HRD, Government of India.
  3. Students appearing for the final year of bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification examination and the those who have finished degree prerequisites and are anticipating results are also eligible to apply. If selected, such applicants will be permitted to join the program temporarily, only if they present a certificate, from the principal/registrar of their college/institute expressing that the student has finished all the prerequisites for acquiring four-year or three-year college education/identical capability on the date of the issue of the certificate.

Study MBA in abroad

Chat with usWhatapp icon
Enquire Now